Platinum’s rare nature gives it additional value and appeal

Huw Daniel is the CEO of Platinum Guild International, overseeing market development activities in China, Japan, India and the USA, on behalf of the platinum producers of South Africa. Before taking up this role in 2015, Huw ran PGI USA for 12 years...

13 september 2021

Marco Carniello: We want to continue to be the engine boosting the jewellery industry

Italian Exhibition Group (IEG) is a leader in Italy in the organisation of trade fairs and one of the main operators in the trade fair and conference sector at European level, with structures in Rimini and Vicenza, as well as further sites in...

06 september 2021

There is a significant need for smart and technological financial solutions in the diamond industry

MDPS, the Israeli start-up Fintech company from the Mazalit Group is gearing up to enter the diamond industry soon. Zeev Maimon, the CEO of MDPS is also the Founder / CEO of MAZALIT, a B2B payment platform designed and dedicated to the global diamond...

30 august 2021

The future for synthetics lies in that it has become possible to grow a stone you want and make what you want out of it

Alex Popov, President of the Moscow Diamond Exchange and head of the Âme jewelry brand, which uses lab-grown diamonds to produce jewelry, sat for an interview with Rough&Polished sharing his views on the coexistence of natural and man-made diamonds in...

23 august 2021

De Beers’ GemFair ropes in more than 160 Sierra Leone artisanal miners

De Beers inaugurated its GemFair pilot programme in Sierra Leone’s Kono District with 14-member mine sites in 2018 to create a secure route to market for ethically sourced artisanal and small-scale diamonds. GemFair programme manager Ruby Stocklin-Weinberg...

16 august 2021

More gemological webinars lined up on identification of LGDs in December 2020

27 november 2020
Following the success of webinars during November 2020, the authors of the best-selling book ‘Laboratory-Grown Diamonds’ have lined up more webinars for December 2020, for presenting more on identification and certification of laboratory-grown Diamonds.

- December 4th, 2020 at 7.00 am PT (Vancouver, LA), 10.00 am New York, 3.00 pm in London, 6.00 pm in Moscow, 8.30 pm Mumbai, 11 pm Hong Kong/Perth.  Look forward to a 'LIVE' conversation with the author Dusan Simic (AG&J, USA) on “Identification and Tracking of laboratory-grown diamonds with NEW Patent“. Author Dusan Simic, B.Sc. FGG is a research gemologist of AG&J (Analytical Gemology and Jewelry, NYC), and holds a USPTO Patent “Synthetic Diamond Labeling and Identification System and Method”.

- December 18th, 2020 7.00 am PT (Vancouver, LA), 10.00 am New York, 3.00 pm in London, 6.00 pm in Moscow, 8.30 pm Mumbai, 11 pm Hong Kong/Perth. Includes, a LIVE conversation with the author Branko Deljanin (CGL, Canada) on “Identification and Certification of Laboratory-grown diamonds”. Author Branko Deljanin, B.Sc. FGA, GG, DGA is President and Head Gemologist at “CGL Canadian Gemlab” and Director of “Gemmological Research Industries” (Canada). 

Aruna Gaitonde, Editor in Chief of the Asian Bureau, Rough&Polished